View your shopping cart.

Banner Message


Please note: We are working on getting our inventory accurately represented on our site while we are in our temporary location. There might be items that appear online that are not currently accesible to us to ship to you. If you order these items, you will be refunded and the rest of your order will ship. Feel free to contact us with any questions.


Coffee House Press invites readers into the world of Native American postmodern poetry in a groundbreaking anthology sampling the work of twenty-two authors who lead us into new conceptual terrain. Visit Teepee Town is the first anthology dedicated solely to postmodern North American Native poetry and poetics. The works selected here resist established methodologies of defining indigenous aesthetics, and include bilingual texts, reinterpretations of traditional tales, and critiques of the Western tradition in anthropology and the social sciences.

The collection features both new and established authors, including James Thomas Stevens, Lise McCloud, Gerald Vizenor, James Luna, Rosemarie Waldrop, Carolyn Lei-lanilau, Barbara Tedlock, Linda Hogan, Wendy Rose, Maurice Kenny, Hachavi Edgar Heap of Birds, Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, Victoria Lena Manyarrows, Besmilr Brigham, Nora Marks Dauenhauer and Richard Dauenhauer, Diane Glancy, Phil Young, Larry Evers and Felipe Molina, Juan Felipe Herrera, Greg Sarris, Peter Blue Cloud, and Louise Bernice Halfe.

Certain to spark lively debate in the classroom and beyond, Visit Teepee Town sidesteps the roadblocks and knocks down the barricades that have limited contemporary criticism and poetry. A revival of the magic of sound and oral tradition, Visit Teepee Town redefines contemporary and postmodern poetry and poetics as it leads readers to the Teepee Town at the end of the mind.

Publication Date: 
June 1, 1999